Frequently Asked Criminal Defense Questions and Video Answers

Gary Churak's Answer

Click Play on the video to see the answer.

Gary Churak's Answer

Gary Churak, San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

I would recommend contacting an attorney immediately. The detective is not your friend. He’s not there to help you. He’s not there to prove that you are innocent. He’s there for one purpose, which is to do an investigation of a criminal case and you can to make his job a lot easier if he is able obtain a confession from you. Anytime you’re contacted by law enforcement, talk to an attorney first.

Gary Churak's Answer

Gary Churak, San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

San Antonio First Offense Drug Defense Lawyer

Gary Churak's Answer

San Antonio Drug and DWI Charge Attorneys

Gary Churak's Answer

Best Criminal Defense Attorney In Texas

Gary Churak's Answer

San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

Click Play on the video to see the answer.

Gary Churak's Answer

Click Play on the video to see the answer.

Gary Churak's Answer

In Texas, the severity of the theft charge is based upon the amount of the item or money allegedly stolen. If it is under $50, it is a Class C misdemeanor subject by fine only and no jail time. If it is $50 to $500, it becomes a Class B misdemeanor with up to 6 months in jail. If it is over $500 but less than $1,500, it is a Class A misdemeanor subject to a potential jail term of 1 year. Over $1,500 to $20,000 is a state jail felony, $20,000 to a $100,000 is a third degree, and the severity of the theft case goes up as the amount in question rises. In addition, certain types of thefts automatically become felonies. If you were to use someone’s credit card, identity theft, it is a felony regardless of the amount of dollars alleged to may have been taken. As an example, if you take somebody’s credit card, unauthorized charge and buy a $500 item, it’s still a felony.

Gary Churak's Answer

A San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

Gary Churak, San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

Click Play on the video to see the answer.

Gary Churak's Answer

A San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

A San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

Gary Churak, San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

A San Antonio Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer answers your question. Click play.

Gary Churak's Answer

Let’s back up. You really don’t sign a civil demand letter. What happens is there is a statue in Texas that allows stores to seek restitution for their alleged damages as a result of shoplifting. Basically, these stores have got together with some collection attorneys in Florida and throughout the United States that kick out these civil restitution demand letters asking anywhere from $250 to $500 for the shoplifting restitution. My advice to clients is throwing it in the trash. They will never take any more action on it than send you a couple of letters.

Gary Churak's Answer

Click Play on the video to see the answer.